Q. Is the ingredient, cysteine hydrochloride halaal? It is derived from animal hair, human hair and chicken feathers. It is used in flour, wholemeal, flavours, shampoo, etc.
A. The product cysteine hydrochloride is haraam. Even if only chicken feathers are used – but which is not so in practice – then too this substance will not be permissible. In the process of producing this substance alcohol and possibly other haraam ingredient are used. It is necessary to study the entire production process to ascertain the ingredients.